Moccasins still work

Gear I Like

In camp, my choice for footwear is Minnetonka Moccasins. At home, too, these are pretty much all I wear, not just around the house, but for walks around the neighborhood. I wear them on short hikes when camping, too, and they perform wonderfully.

I have the Double sole model: the sole is pure leather, just the same as the uppers, but with two layers, one sewn over the other.

When I first got them, they were the same soft, supple leather as the top, but after only a couple of camps and hikes, they have developed into a tough sole. Walking in them reminds me a great deal of wearing thin, flat soled trail running shoes: while you have to be careful where you step, they are light and very tough.

These are among my favorite items of camp gear – and non-camp, too.

Leave a Reply

